All Visa Free Countries for US Passport Holders

All Visa Free Countries for US Passport Holders

Last Updated on April 13, 2023 by Akwaowo Akpan

As of December 2022, the US passport is ranked 7th in the world. This indicates that US residents can visit 180+ countries without a visa or with an eVisa, or a visa on arrival. However, holders of US passports need to have a current visitor visa in order to access the remaining nations. This article will be on visa free countries for US passport holders.

Where Can US Passport Holders Travel Without a Visa?

As of December 2022, this 130+ countries are visa free countries for US passport holders:

  • Albania
  • Andorra
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Argentina
  • Armenia
  • Aruba
  • Austria
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Belize
  • Bermuda
  • Caribbean Netherlands
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Botswana
  • Brazil
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Bulgaria
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Central African Republic
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Cook Islands
  • Costa Rica
  • Croatia
  • Curaçao
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Ecuador
  • El Salvador
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Estonia
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • France
  • French Guiana
  • French Polynesia
  • French West Indies
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guam
  • Guatemala
  • Guyana
  • Haiti
  • Honduras
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Indonesia
  • Iraq
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Jamaica
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kiribati
  • Kosovo
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Latvia
  • Lesotho
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Macau
  • Malaysia
  • Malta
  • Marshall Islands
  • Mauritius
  • Mayotte
  • Mexico
  • Micronesia
  • Moldova
  • Monaco
  • Mongolia
  • Montenegro
  • Montserrat
  • Morocco
  • Namibia
  • Netherlands
  • New Caledonia
  • Nicaragua
  • Niue
  • North Macedonia
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Norway
  • Oman
  • Palau
  • Palestine
  • Panama
  • Peru
  • Philippines
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Puerto Rico
  • Qatar
  • Réunion
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • São Tomé and Príncipe
  • Senegal
  • Serbia
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Africa
  • South Korea
  • Spain
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Martin
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Tunisia
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • United States Virgin Islands
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
  • Uruguay
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vanuatu
  • Vatican City
  • Eswatini

You still need a valid passport for visa-free travel, normally valid for six months after your departure date, and you need to get travel health insurance as required by your destination country.

What Countries Issue eVisa to US Citizens?

The following 10 countries issue eVisas for US passport holders:

  • Angola
  • Azerbaijan
  • Benin
  • Djibouti
  • India
  • Kenya
  • Myanmar
  • Suriname
  • Turkey
  • Vietnam

An eVisa can be obtained in a manner that is essentially identical to that of a conventional visa. However, in this instance, you can submit your application—along with the money for the visa—online and avoid having to go to a visa application facility.

Following the approval of your application, you will receive an email confirming the status of your visa along with a document that you must print off and carry with you while entering the country. Although your visa will be registered electronically, some officials may still want a hard copy of the permit, so it’s crucial to carry one with you at all times.

What Countries Issue Visa on Arrival to US Passport Holders?

If you are an US citizen, you can get a visa on arrival for the 43 countries listed below:

  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Bolivia
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cabo Verde
  • Comoros
  • Egypt
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Maldives
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Nepal
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Paraguay
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • Somalia
  • Saint Helena
  • Tajikistan
  • Tanzania
  • Gambia
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

You receive a visa on arrival (VOA) after entering the country that issues such a visa. Most airports have a dedicated area where you can submit your application for a visa upon arrival.

Countries With Visa Requirements for US Citizens

You need a valid visa to enter the following 30 countries with an US passport:

  • Afghanistan
  • Algeria
  • Belarus
  • Bhutan
  • Cameroon
  • Chad
  • China
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Ivory Coast
  • Cuba
  • Eritrea
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Iran
  • Japan
  • Liberia
  • Libya
  • Mali
  • Nauru
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • North Korea
  • Russia
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Turkmenistan
  • Venezuela
  • Yemen

The application for a visa goes as follows:

  1. Make a reservation at the American visa center: To submit your application, you must schedule an appointment with a nearby visa application center in your country of residence. Setting up a meeting with the embassy or consulate may take several months..
  2. Prepare your documents: Prepare the necessary documents for your visa application, such as your passport, application form, health insurance, etc., in order to submit a successful application. Some of your documents require an apostille stamp or certification from a foreign authority.
  3. Send your application in: The last step is to submit your application and show up for the visa interview; you might also need to provide your biometric data. You can submit your application after you have translated your documents as instructed by the embassy or consulate and, if feasible, authenticated them with an apostille stamp. After then, it will take a few weeks before your visa application is decided.Please be aware that you do not need to apply for a new visa if your current one allows you to enter many countries.

What Documents Do US Citizens Need to Apply for a Visa?

A few documents must be submitted by US citizens who wish to travel to nations where visa applications must be made in advance. Document requirements may differ depending on the nation you wish to visit. However, the majority of nations will undoubtedly demand the following:

  • Your valid US passport (plus a photocopy). Some countries require the passport to be valid for more than six months after the day you plan on departing their country.
  • A filled visa application form.
  • Passport pictures that are not older than six months.
  • Travel health insurance that covers your entire period of stay.
  • Proof of paid visa fee.
  • Detailed travel itinerary that shows all the places you want to visit.
  • Letter of invitation (if applicable)
  • Proof of booked return ticket for the flight home.
  • Proof of booked accommodation.
  • Proof that you have sufficient funds to cover your visit
  • Civil status documents (marriage papers, certificates of birth, etc.)



  • Akwaowo Akpan

    Hi there, welcome to Online Studying Services. As a fan of authentic information and a student, I devise this means to offer reliable information to international students wishing to either study abroad or online. Thanks for stopping by!

    View all posts
Share this post on

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *